T20 Cricket World Cup Winners from 2007 to 2021

Sports were once viewed solely as a form of entertainment by the general public. As time passed, the entire world of sports expanded and became a distinct business in its own right. People nowadays are very serious about their love of sports and how they talk about it. Cricket is one of those sports that people in India are incredibly passionate about, with cricket seasons being celebrated in the same way that other festivals are.

Cricket is played in a variety of formats, and each has its own fan base. T20, on the other hand, has all the fans pumped up and going crazy. The T20 World Cup is an International Championship event organized by Cricket’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). The T20 World Cup team list, which consists of 16 teams, includes the top ten ranked teams at the time of the deadline, as well as six teams, were chosen from the T20 World Cup Qualifier.

India won the 2007 Men’s T20 World Cup. The tournament was held in South Africa, while the most recent edition will be held in Australia from October 16th to November 13th, 2022. The most recent t20 world cup champion is Australia.

The table displayed below contains the icc t20 world cup winners list from 2007 to 2022.

T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022
Year Winner
2007 India
2009 Pakistan
2010 England
2012 West Indies
2014 Sri Lanka
2016 West Indies
2021 Australia

T20 World Cup Winners List

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 will be held in Australia this year, with the first day at Geelong’s Kardinia Park Stadium and the final day at Melbourne Cricket Ground. The t20 world cup team list includes winners from nearly 15 years. The following t20 world cup winner list includes the winners, runner-ups, series players, top run scorers, highest wicket-takers, and venue.

The list of winners highlights the dominance of the West Indies, who have won the competition twice. The list also includes Virat Kohli, who was named Player of the Series in two consecutive seasons of the T20 World Cup, and Umar Gul, who was the leading wicket-taker twice.

Do take a look at the t20 world cup champions list below for a better understanding.

Year Winners Runners Up Player of the Series Top Run Scorer Highest Wicket Taker Venue
2022 Australia
2021 Australia New Zealand Babar Azam Wanindu Hasaranga Oman & UAE
2016 West Indies England Virat Kohli Tamim Iqbal Mohammad Nabi India
2014 Sri Lanka India Virat Kohli Virat Kohli Ahsan Malik and Imran Tahir Bangladesh
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Shane Watson Shane Watson Ajantha Mendis Sri Lanka
2010 England Australia Kevin Pietersen Mahela Jayawardene Dirk Nannes West Indies
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka Tillakaratne Dilshan Tillakaratne Dilshan Umar Gul England
2007 India Pakistan Shahid Afridi Matthew Hayden Umar Gul South Africa

List of T20 World Cup Winners by Country

Without a doubt, the best cricket team from the icc t20 world cup winners list is West Indies. They are the only team on the t20 world cup team list to have won the competition twice, while India, England, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Australia have only won it once. Let us now look at the icc t20 world cup winner list by country from 2007 to 2022.

Country Name No. of times Winner Year
West Indies 2 2012, 2016
India 1 2007
Pakistan 1 2009
England 1 2010
Sri Lanka 1 2014
Australia 1 2021

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner

The final match of the T20 Cricket World Cup 2021 was played between Australia and New Zealand. As a result, Australia easily won the match by 8 wickets. Australia won the t20 cricket world cup 2021 for the first time, and Mitchell Marsh was named Player of the Match. Baba Azram of Pakistan led the tournament in run-scoring, while Wanindu Hasaranga of Sri Lanka took the most wickets.


T20 World Cup 2016 Final Winner- West Indies

The 2016 t20 world cup final was played between the West Indies and England, and the West Indies won, becoming the first team to win the tournament twice. The t20 world cup champions lost only one game on their way to the final against Afghanistan. When the West Indies won the tournament in 2012, Virat Kohli of India was named Player of the Series, and Tamin Iqbal of Bangladesh was the highest run-scorer. Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi took the most wickets.


T20 World Cup 2014 Winner- Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka and India met in the 2014 t20 world cup final. Sri Lanka defeated India by six wickets to win the match and the t20 world cup. This was India’s second appearance in a t20 world cup final. Virat Kohli of India was named the series’ leading run-scorer and player. The tournament’s highest wicket-takers were Ahsan Malik of the Netherlands and Imran Tahir of South Africa.


T20 World Cup 2012 Winner- West Indies

The final of the 2012 t20 World Cup was played between the West Indies and Sri Lanka, the tournament’s hosts. West Indies won the t20 world cup by a score of 36 runs over their opponents. Despite losing their first match against Australia, the team’s mentality remained strong, and they were able to lift the trophy. Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka took the most wickets in this tournament, while Australian Shane Watson was named Player of the Series and top run scorer.


T20 World Cup 2010 Winner- England

England defeated their Ashes rivals Australia by 7 wickets in the 2010 t20 world cup final to become the first team from outside Asia to win the tournament. Despite losing to the West Indies in their first game, England won the t20 world cup after winning all of their subsequent games. Kevin Pietersen’s outstanding performance throughout the tournament earned him the title of t20 World Cup Player of the Series. Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene scored the most runs, while Australia’s Dirk Nannes took the most wickets.


T20 World Cup 2009 Winners- Pakistan

Pakistan and Sri Lanka met in the final of the 2009 t20 world cup. This was Pakistan’s second appearance in the t20 world cup final since 2007. They won the t20 world cup by defeating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets. Despite losing in a Super 8 match to hosts England and Sri Lanka, Pakistan won the big trophy. Tillakaratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka was named Player of the Series and top run-scorer in this tournament. For the second time in a row, Pakistan’s Umar Gul was the highest wicket-taker.


T20 World Cup 2007 Winner- India

India and Pakistan met in the 2007 World Cup final. India defeated Pakistan and won the T20 World Cup for the first time under MS Dhoni’s captaincy. They only lost one game in the tournament, to New Zealand in the Super 8s. Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi was named Player of the Series in this tournament. Australia’s Matthew Hayden scored the most runs, while Pakistan’s Umar Gul took the most wickets.


Top 10 Players: Who Have Taken Most Wickets in ODI For India


Top Best online betting sites in India


Get an online betting id on

Betting Id

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *